The Fear….

Posted on Updated on

K is selling a few of the twins things on eBay at the moment and it is time for the first twin pram to go (We are on our third I think!).  A very nice lady got in touch and asked how much to take it off your hands this weekend.

Mrs L turned up on Saturday afternoon to inspect the goods prior to shelling out the cash.  It was plain to see she was in a state of shock!  She told us with trembling hands and a slightly manic stare that her husband and 21 month old son were waiting in the car outside. She told us “I only found out recently”.

Standing there offering trite words of reassurance I felt like an army captain offering his troops words of encouragement before sending them over the top at Gallipoli in WW1. “You can do it” and “Don’t worry you will be fine” then as now seems a bit hollow.

And the finest words of wisdom we could impart . . . . . . “Its just like having one except there are two of them”.  The book deal can surely be only a matter of time!

She left us with a nice twin pram and just a little tear in her eye.

3 thoughts on “The Fear….

    knockedupjacq said:
    August 10, 2012 at 4:15 am

    Hahaha – I’m 15 weeks pregnant with twins – my first (and only!) children, and I can totally relate to that poor woman’s current freaked out state! We found out at seven weeks, and I thought that I’d got my head around it and recovered from the shock, but I was out walking the dog the other day and was suddenly struck by an “OMFG I’m having TWINS!” moment. So I’m actively seeking out twin-related blogs to remind myself that people do actually manage to do it!

      toomanycarbs responded:
      August 10, 2012 at 9:00 am

      Hi The twins are now 9 months old and I think nearly every day we still think OMFG we have twins! Its hard work of course but all I would say is we feel very lucky. Its a special thing having twins and already they have a special bond. We ran into some Chinese tourists on holiday last month and they ALL wanted to have their photo taken next to the twins. It was hysterical but reminded us how lucky we are. Good luck. I will be checking up on your blog.

        knockedupjacq said:
        August 13, 2012 at 9:38 pm

        Thank you! We feel very lucky too and are so excited about it all – but man, it’s GREAT to hear that other people were as freaked out as us!!

Leave a Reply

